About Us

The Owen Sound Attack is one of 20 teams in the Ontario Hockey League and one of 60 teams in the Canadian Hockey League. The Attack play all of their home games out of the Harry Lumley Bayshore Community Centre, a facility located on the picturesque shores of Georgian Bay.The Attack is the smallest market in the Ontario Hockey League as second smallest in the Canadian Hockey League next to the Swift Current Bronco’s.

Despite the Attack being the smallest market in the OHL, our fans are considered amongst the most passionate and knowledgable fans in the league. Did you know that despite the Owen Sound Attack being the smallest market team in the league, we draw the largest percentage of our population to our home games at just over 11%?

From 1989-2000, the Owen Sound Attack were known as the Owen Sound Platers. The Platers were moved here from Guelph by then owners Rob and Joe Holody and after attempting to sell the team to out of town businessmen, which may have meant re-locating the team, the Platers were bought by the “Super Six” and re-named the Attack in the summer of 2000.

The  “Super Six” consisted of Brian Johnson, Dr. Robert Severs, Fay Harshman, Frank Coulter and Peter and Paul MacDermid. Their effort allowed the team to stay in the Scenic City. In the winter of 2008, then President Brian Johnson sold his shares in the franchise to Dr. Severs, Fay, Frank, Peter and Paul.

In the spring of 2011, the Owen Sound Attack captured the hearts of fans in Grey-Bruce and all across Ontario when they won their first ever Ontario Hockey League Championship. The celebration that would ensue in the streets that evening in Owen Sound is one that will never be forgotten.

As an organization, the Attack are committed to providing a strong, nurturing environment for our players. Players who come to Owen Sound often remark on how welcome they are made to feel by our fans.

The Owen Sound Attack ownership group has been and always will be committed to providing the loyal fans of Owen Sound and Grey-Bruce “their hockey team”.