2010/11 Attack to be honoured on Friday night

The first, and to date only, J. Ross Robertson Cup Championship squad in Owen Sound Attack history will be honoured along with a number of other local sports celebrities on Friday, May 4.

The Owen Sound Sports Hall of Fame is set to host its annual induction ceremony, with the 2010/11 Attack squad entering the Hall alongside 12 other athletes, teams, and builders.

Led by the trio of Joey Hishon, Garrett Wilson, and Andrew Fritsch during the regular season, the 2010/11 Attack finished 2nd overall in the Ontario Hockey League having posted a stellar 46-17-1-4 record that earned them 97 points and the top seed in the Western Conference entering the post season.

Hishon’s 87 points led the team in the regular season with Wilson leading the way in goals for with 40. A true score-by-committee team, not a single player from the Attack finished in the top 10 in OHL scoring that year; underscoring the substantial depth of the team.

In goal, the Attack relied on the vaunted Three Headed Monster of Scott Stajcer, Jordan Binnington, and Michael Zador to guide them to the top of the Western Conference with the trio combining to post a 3.07 goals against average along with an .898 save percentage.

That combination also proved lethal in the playoffs, with each netminder appearing in at least seven games and recording four wins to go along with a team GAA of 2.87 and save percentage of .906.

Offensively, the team once again looked to Hishon and Wilson to put the puck in the back of the net, but the 2011 OHL Playoff MVP would go to Rob Mignardi, who tied Hishon for the team scoring lead thanks to 15 goals and nine assists in 22 games of playoff action.

All told, an impressive 11 players would score in double digits for the Attack in the post season, with rookie Jarrod Maidens picking up his 10th and final point of the playoffs when he scored in overtime of Game 7 of the Rogers OHL Championship Series against the Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors to give the Attack their first OHL Championship in franchise history.

A number of the players from the Championship Squad are expected to be in Owen Sound for the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

More information on the event, which begins at 5:30pm at the Harry Lumley Bayshore Community Centre, can be found by clicking HERE.

More News
Three Stars: March 21, 2019
13 hours ago
Mar. 21/19 - OS (4) -SSM (3) - OT - Game 1
13 hours ago
Sushko OT winner leads Attack past Greyhounds
1 day ago
Attack Players Recognized in 2018-19 Coaches Poll
2 days ago
Joe Tomato's First Round Preview
3 days ago
Peninsula Ford Plays of the Week - Week 26
4 days ago