Attack Alumni Win Big at NHL Awards

Three former Owen Sound Attack players went home with hardware tonight from the 2019 NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

Mark Giordano, who played for Owen Sound from 2002-2004, won the Norris Award for the NHL’s Best Defenseman. The rearguard led the NHL in Plus/Minus with a +39 rating and added 74 points from the blueline, the second best total for a defender in the league. The captain of the Calgary Flames, Giordano received 165 of 171 first-place votes for the award.

Wayne Simmonds took home the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award on Wednesday night for his leadership and dedication to the game of hockey. The award was created to honour a player that exemplifies great leadership qualities on and off the ice. Wayne had been a leader in the community while playing for the Philadelphia Flyers before being traded to the Nashville Predators, and he continues to work with youth in his hometown of Scarborough, Ontario. Simmonds played for the Attack from 2006-2008. Giordano was also a finalist for the award.

Jordan Binnington added the “Bridgestone Clutch Performance of the Playoffs” award to his resume tonight, for his exemplary work in the playoffs where he set a rookie record with 16 victories en route to a Stanley Cup victory for his St. Louis Blues. Binnington also finished 2nd in Calder voting for Rookie of the Year. The CHL Goaltender of the year in 2013, Binnington played for Owen Sound from 2009-2013, helping lead the Attack an OHL Championship in 2011.

The Owen Sound Attack wish to congratulate our former players on their tremendous accomplishments!


More News
OHL 20 in 20 Futures Watch: Owen Sound Attack
2 days ago
Meet The Picks: Logan LeSage
1 week ago
Meet The Picks: Ryan Stansel
1 week ago
Attack sign Joshua Samanski to Standard Player Agreement
3 weeks ago
TRADE ALERT: Attack acquire Nizhnikov from Wolves
3 weeks ago
Meet The Picks: Tyler Hotson
3 weeks ago