Attack at the Draft: NHL Draft Preview

The National Hockey League draft will take place on Friday, July 23 and Saturday, July 24.  This year it will be conducted virtually with Round one taking place starting at 8 p.m. on Friday night, followed by Rounds 2-7 on Starting at 11 a.m. on Saturday.  The Attack have a total of 14 players who are draft eligible this year, with the likes of Deni Goure, Ethan Burroughs and Kaleb Lawrence garnering the most attention.

Goure, Burroughs and Lawrence all found themselves mentioned in the NHL Central Scouting rankings of North American skaters.  Goure, the highest ranked Attack player at 83rd, tallied 11 goals and 14 assists in his rookie season.  Burroughs, ranked 138th in the final rankings, had eight goals and 11 assists in 53 games in 2019-20.  Lawrence, who ranked 215th in the final ranking, tallied five goals and 3 assists in 29 games in 2019-20.

Joshua Samanski, in his second year of draft eligibility, has also garnered attention from NHL teams heading into this weekend’s draft.  During the 2019-20 pandemic shortened season, Samanski had four goals and 16 assists in 54 games.  While waiting for the start of the Ontario Hockey League season, the German-Canadian forward spent the 2020-21 season in Germany playing for the Ravensburg Towerstars in the DEL-2.  In 41 games, he had four goals and 18 assists.  He also appeared with Team Germany at the IIHF World Junior Hockey Championships this past December.

Since 2010, 27 Attack players have been selected by NHL franchises, including two first round picks in Joey Hishon (2010) and Nick Suzuki (2017).  A full breakdown of those selected in rounds 2-7 since 2010 can be found below.

2nd Round:  Chris Bigras (2013), Zach Nastasiuk (2013), Jonah Gadjovich (2017) & Sean Durzi (2018)

3rd Round:  Jordan Binnington (2011), Jarrod Maidens (2012), Kurtis Gabriel (2013) & Thomas Schemitsch (2015)

4th Round:  Geoffrey Schemitsch (2010), Steven Shipley (2010), Gemel Smith (2012), Maksim Sushko (2017), Markus Phillips (2017) & Aidan Dudas (2018)

5th Round:  Andrew Shaw (2011) & Jason Wilson (2010)

6th Round:  Andrew Fritsch (2011), Jake Dotchin (2012), Joseph Blandisi (2012), Artur Gavrus (2012), Jaden Lindo (2014), Liam Dunda (2015), Trent Bourque (2017) & Petrus Palmu (2017)

7th Round:  Jacob Friend (2016)

Attack at the Draft coverage is presented by Bumstead Financial & Insurance, follow the @AttackOHL Struyk Energy social media feeds for updates on who is taken over the weekend.


1st Year:
Ethan Burroughs
Deni Goure
Kaleb Lawrence
Sam Sedley 

2nd Year:
Nick Chenard
Logan LeSage
Stepan Machacek
Joshua Samanski
Nolan Seed

Free Agent: 
Igor Chibrikov
Mack Guzda
Andrew Perrott
Griffin Wilson
Mark Woolley 

More News
The OHL Stands with Jalen Smereck
2 hours ago
Attack Announce New Production Partnership
4 hours ago
Expanded Fan Capacity at Bayshore
1 day ago
Attack Win in Return to the Bayshore
3 days ago
Comeback Falls Short, as Attack See Rookies Step-up
4 days ago
OHL Moving to Expanded Fan Capacities Starting September 25
4 days ago