Attack Give Halmo “C”

The Owen Sound Attack is pleased to announce that they have named forward Michael Halmo the eighteenth Captain in Owen Sound Franchise History. Halmo, an overage forward from Waterloo has spent the past three seasons with the Attack, with the upcoming season being his overage year. In three seasons with the Attack, the 5’11, 195lb forward has amassed 36 goals and 44 assists to go along with 332 penalty minutes in 181 regular season games played. Halmo also picked up 15 points in 22 playoff games last Spring.

“I am extremely proud to be named the Captain of this years squad.”, stated Halmo. “This is a great organization and I am very honored to have my name associated with all of the organizations past Captains.”

In addition to naming Halmo as the Attack’s new Captain, the team has also issued Assistant Captaincy to defenseman Geoffrey Schemitsch and sophomore forward Jarrod Maidens.

Schemitsch is entering his third season with the Attack and has tallied 5 goals and 55 assists in 107 regular season games. The Tampa Bay Lightning pick also had 1 goal and 10 assists in 20 playoff games last season. Maidens, 17, picked up 10 goals and 11 assists in 47 games played last season, plus another 6 goals and 4 assists in 22 playoff games.

“We are extremely confident in the leadership abilities of all three young men.”, stated Attack Head Coach Greg Ireland. “ In addition to Michael, Geoffrey and Jarrod, there is a number of other players we will look to for leadership of this young squad.”

Below is a list of all Captains in Owen Sound franchise history.

Other News:    

– Forward Daniel Catenacci has been returned to the Attack from the Buffalo Sabres and will be in the lineup tonight
– The Attack has released sophomore defenseman Greg Staeger. Staeger is expected to join the London Nationals Junior “B” Hockey Club. The Attack wish to thank Greg for his service and wish him nothing but the best moving forward with his career.

– Forwards Brett Appio and Holden Cook will not dress in the Season Opener as they both have infractions being reviewed by the OHL.        

Mike Speer: 1989-1991
Kirk Maltby: 1991-1992
Rick Morton: 1992-1993
Jeff Kostuch: 1993-1995
Jason Campbell: 1995-1996
Kurt Walsh: 1996-1997
Dan Snyder: 1997-1999
Wes Goldie: 1999-2000
Dave Stephenson: 2000
Kyle McAllister: 2000-2001
Mike Jacobsen: 2001-2002
Patrick Jarrett: 2002-2005
Bobby Ryan: 2005-2007
Scott Tregunna: 2007
David Kolomatis: 2007-2009
Marcus Carroll: 2009-2010
Garrett Wilson: 2010-2011
Michael Halmo: 2011 – Present

More News
Where Are They Now? Update Edition
2 days ago
3 days ago
Gavin Bryant Named Midwest Division Academic Player of the Month
1 week ago
CHL Sunday Spotlight – 5 Questions with Attack's Deni Goure
2 weeks ago
Attack a perfect fit for fast-paced playmaker Guindon
2 weeks ago
Government of Ontario Announces New Funding in Support of OHL Scholarship Program
3 weeks ago