The Owen Sound Attack are proud to announce the naming of Nick Suzuki as the 23rd captain in franchise history with Sean Durzi, Kevin Hancock and Aidan Dudas serving as his assistant captains.

Entering into his fourth year with the Attack, Suzuki has put up a total of 110 goals in 194 career regular season games played with Owen Sound.  He’s landed a total of 237 points in his three seasons with the Bears.

Suzuki who was drafted 13th overall by the Las Vegas Golden Knights in the 2017 NHL Entry Draft, spent the better part of September at NHL training camps, as he was traded from Las Vegas to the Montreal Canadiens on September 9th.  Playing multiple pre-season games with Montreal, it was not certain if Suzuki would return to the OHL, but on September 25th he was released back to the Attack.

Suzuki, a native of London, Ontario, spent last season as Jacob Friend’s assistant, so is no stranger to a letter on his jersey. Landing 4th overall for points in the 2017-18 season, Suzuki managed 100 points in 64 games played, with 42 goals and 58 assists.

Two of Suzuki’s assistants, Durzi and Dudas, both heard their named called this past summer at the NHL Entry Draft with Durzi going 52nd overall to the Toronto Maple Leafs and Dudas going 113th overall to the Los Angelas Kings. Hancock remains undrafted, but an integral part of the teams veteran presence on and off the ice.

“It’s truly an honour to be named captain in Owen Sound, and in the same category as the great Attack captains before me,” Suzuki said of becoming the 23rd captain in franchise history.

“It’s always been a dream of mine, and for it to happen is very special.”

Durzi, who is entering his fourth year with the Attack, notched 103 points over 145 games in the past three seasons.  Missing a significant amount of games in the 2017-18 season due to injury, Durzi still managed 15 goals and 34 assists in 40 games played.

Hancock, who has spent four full seasons with the Attack, has played a total of 200 games with the team, total 187 points.  Last season, Hancock landed 69 points with 24 goals in 43 games played.

Dudas, entering his third season with the Bears, managed 31 goals and 34 assists in 68 games played in the 2017-18 season.

Suzuki believes that it’s not only him and his assistants that have a leadership role for the team, however.

“We all bring different leadership qualities to the team.  Even players that don’t have letters on their jersey’s will be looked upon to lead,” he said.

Attack Head Coach Todd Gill said that deciding whose jerseys received a letter was very tough for him and the Attack leadership group.

“We have a very high caliber of players this season, and many of them could have received letters on their jerseys. What it came down to is who can we count on to lead by example, and Nick is the perfect example,” he said of the decision of who got the “C”.

Gill said the experience Suzuki has, and the way he carries himself on and off the ice was a big reason the centreman received the honours.

When it comes to the choice for assistants, Gill said him and the rest of the leadership group used much of the same criteria.

“Assistants need to be able to support the captain, and again lead by example. We need players that are vocal in the dressing room, and lead by example on the ice.  With these three, we have exactly that,” Gill said of the choice for who got the “A”.

Suzuki and the Attack take on the Sarnia Sting at home tonight for a 7:00pm puck drop at the Harry Lumley Bayshore Community Centre. Tickets are available at the MacVicar & McComb ReMax Attack Box Office, online at, or by calling 519.371.7452.

A franchise history of Attack/Platers captains can be found below:

Attack/Platers Franchise Captains

Jacob Friend: 2017 – 2018
Santino Centorame: 2015 – 2017
Zach Nastasiuk: 2013 – 2015
Keevin Cutting: 2012 – 2013
Michael Halmo: 2011 – 2012
Garrett Wilson: 2010 – 2011
Marcus Carroll: 2009 – 2010
David Kolomatis: 2007 – 2009
Scott Tregunna: 2007
Bobby Ryan: 2005 – 2007
Patrick Jarrett: 2002 – 2005
Michael Jacobsen: 2001 – 2002
Kyle McAllister: 2000 – 2001
Dave Stephenson: 2000
Wes Goldie: 1999 – 2000
Dan Synder: 1997 – 1999
Kurt Walsh: 1996 – 1997
Jason Campbell: 1995 – 1996
Jeff Kostuch: 1993 – 1995
Rick Morton: 1992 – 1993
Kirk Maltby: 1991 – 1992
Mike Speer: 1989 – 1991


This season of Attack hockey is presented to you by Lerner’s Personal Injury Lawyers.


More News
Burroughs and Goure on NHL Central Scouting 'Players to Watch' List for January
2 days ago
OHL Footprint: Captains in the NHL
3 days ago
13 Former Attack Players on NHL Opening Night Rosters
2 weeks ago
Attack Acquire Nikita Tiatinkin From IceDogs
3 weeks ago
Attack Organization Mourns The Loss Of Georgina McKelvie
3 weeks ago
Attack Hosting Virtual Coaches Forum
4 weeks ago